20
Jun
10

highlights of the week

Some highlights of another busy week in Galveston:

  • Update on the little Bean- Curly Bean is getting bigger as my belly sticks out further and further.  🙂  The baby is still moving a lot.  Here is a picture from Sybil’s shower of a few of the other pregnant girls at work and me.  I think how pregnant you look is highly dependent on the shirt.  Sybil is due at the end of July, me at the beginning of September, and Lauren mid September.  One of our patients calls us the Fraternity of Maternity.  Isn’t that cute?  Lauren and her husband will be going to childcare classes with Tim and I starting this Tuesday.  It’s going to be great to know someone else there!

Lauren, Jenn and Sybil

Baby at 29 1/2 weeks

  • Working full-time as a PT is going well so far.  I am certainly more tired every day, but the people I work with are awesome.  They help take a lot of the physical part of my job away as far as transferring patients or walking with them.  I still do some of it, but they have helped me out a bunch. 
  • Tim has had a great week of exercising, riding his bike around the island and taking care of a bunch of things.  He installed the grab bar at Harriet’s house for her tub this week.  He ran/biked around organizing lunch at Primera for a youth volunteer team at the parsonage (more pics and details on that to follow in a separate post).  He leaped tall buildings with a single bound… no wait… that’s superman.  He met with Eddie and looked at a church that needed rebuilding.  There is much more to say about the parsonage and church buildings, so they will be in separate posts. 
  • My dog is crazy sometimes.  We found a Barkley toy that Dana (I think)  hid when she was here in November.  It was hidden because it was driving all of us (mostly me) nuts.  Barkley would squeak it nonstop.  We gave it back to the dog, and Barkley played with it nonstop for three days until it was mysteriously lost again.  🙂  That toy needs to come out in short bursts only. 
  • We went to Market on the Strand on Saturday afternoon.  It was a small unexciting group of vendors mostly selling arts and crafts.  But we enjoyed getting out and walking around.  We stopped at an old fashioned ice cream shop called Lafitte Confectionary and Sweets on the Strand (hope I spelled it right).  It was a fun place but very crowded with tourists for the weekend trying to stay out of the heat.   The ice cream was good, very creamy…mmmm.  Tim said the shake was as good as the ones from Sonic… not a very resounding endorsement since it was much more expensive. 
  • Went out to The Spot to celebrate Father’s day- yay Tim.  It is a good burger place on the Seawall.  It was busy, but they were well staffed, so service was pretty quick considering the crowd.  Overall- a good week!

Mmmm milkshake

Old fashioned ice cream shoppe

Barkley's toy that needs rationing for my sanity


1 Response to “highlights of the week”


  1. 1 Betsy
    July 1, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    That toy is insanity!!! I say keep it on the bookshelf…the top one! I don’t bug easy and that thing made me crazy.

    You guys look great. I wish I could come down again soon. Miss you both…and Amber too!


Leave a comment