Archive for June 10th, 2010

10
Jun
10

a sad day for my tomato plant

The last few months I have been trying to grow some vegetables- tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, and cucumber- some herbs- basil, cilantro, and mint, and strawberries.  Things have been going pretty well.  I think I have yielded 12 strawberries or so, but everything else is still maturing.  However, when we got home Wednesday afternoon, my poor topsy turvey tomato plant had all its fruit destroyed by a huge caterpillar.  The caterpillar had to be about 5 inches long but took a bite of all 3 of the tomatoes.  It was a very sad day for the tomato plant after working so hard to grow them over the past few weeks.  I guess I will now see if the plant dies or puts its energy into growing more leaves, flowers, and eventually tomatoes!  I hope the caterpillar enjoyed my tomatoes!