31
Aug
09

Caulk, Trim and Flooring

We were working in the parsonage again today – trying to finish up the trim in the house, doing a bit of caulking and also patching some of the holes in the floor before we put the laminate flooring down.  Just some quick thoughts from working today –

  1. I took a short break this morning to drive over to Edgewater Retirement Community to help a couple get some donated plants for their house.  Our friend Jose from Primera made the connection for us.  They took 6-7 plants to replenish those that died during the hurricane.  I really enjoy Jose – he seems to have a really good heart and spirit.  In chatting with him, he offered to come help us work on the parsonage whenever we would need him.  However, I wish that I could really have a conversation with him – he is one of the people in the congregation that speaks more Spanish than English.  I really need to get working on my Spanish.
  2. There were two water spouts that came ashore last night during heavy thunderstorms in Galveston (as they came onshore, they became tornadoes).  They landed about 35 blocks from where we live.  There was some property damage (one store on the seawall lost its roof) and three people had minor injuries.  However, it was a reminder to the islanders of the power of Mother Nature.  People are still holding their breath during hurricane season this year – wondering if another hurricane and destruction was headed their way… 
  3. I enjoy working in the parsonage because there are so many things to do.  It lends to my short attention span.  Today I spent time working on one room and then the next, and then moving to caulking a little bit, and then fixing the floor a bit, and then back to trim.  I think it keeps my mind occupied as I switch from room to room.
  4. We bought a counter top and a sink today for the kitchen.  Don’t know how to install either.  That is why God invented the internet.  www.google.com – “install counter top”.  www.doityourself.com – I think I am all set now. I have come to find that a lot of the work is learning and figuring it out as you go.  I enjoy that kind of stuff – it is challenging to my coconut.
  5. Starting to think about sermons for Sunday – it is Labor Day – never has meant too much in the church calendar, except usually lower attendance.  I have a couple of ideas for sermons.  Sometime soon I want to talk about whether the church is a maintenance church or a missional church (using my friend Jeff Johnson’s work in his new book, Got Style? –check his book out on amazon.com) but am thinking of waiting until after Labor Day for that.  I could check out the lectionary (a group of readings predetermined for each Sunday).  Or talk about obstacles to living in the Kingdom of God – following up from last week’s sermon.  Don’t know – we will see which way the Lord leads.  I have a bunch of painting and mundane work to do this week where I can continue to noodle this out.
  6. I had a profound thought about something mundane I was doing today – but I can’t remember what it was…sorry! 
  7. I have a couple of fantasy football drafts coming up – exciting times – football season is closing in fast!  There are many days when I dream about when we are living in the parsonage and I have the big TV to watch football games…

Happy Tuesday to you – we will be touching up paint and Mrs. Salinas’ and also running some errands….

Dolphin World broken windows

Dolphin World broken windows

Water spout tore off roof

Water spout tore off roof


0 Responses to “Caulk, Trim and Flooring”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment